Trio Poseidon: Piano Trios by Haydn, Ireland and Brahms

Daphne 1026




New CD with Music for Piano Trio by Haydn, Ireland and Brahms. Played by Trio Poseidon on their début CD. Trio Poseidon has quickly advanced to the forefront of chamber music ensembles in Sweden. After playing together in a great variety of ensembles, Claes Gunnarsson, Per Lundberg and Sara Trobäck formed the trio in 2002 and have since then performed regularly at chamber music festivals in Sweden as well as scoring major international successes, e.g. at the Wigmore Hall, London where they made their début in 2004.


Joseph Haydn: Piano Trio in A major

1.    Allegro

2.    Andante

3.    Allegro

4.    John Ireland: Phantase for Violin, Cello and Piano

Johannes Brahms: Piano trio op. 8 B major

5.    Allegro con brio

6.    Scherzo: Allegro molto

7.    Adagio

8.    Allegro


This is a Swedish group formed in 2002, and their reputation is spreading. All three performances are excellent. The Haydn has the right snap, and the Brahms is warm and sweet but never heavy. The Ireland strikes me as — well, that's the problem: it never strikes me at all. I've heard it many times and it has never made the slightest impression on me. Most of us have an excellent recording of the Brahms. It's wonderful music, and everybody seems to have recorded it. The Haydn does not stand out from his other trios, so no one will rush out to get this for that. And that means the only reason to get this is to hear this fine young trio. I like them very much. Gorgeous sound.

American Record Guide

"this is a tremendously impressive release" Fanfare

Buy the record here:

The music on this web site is published courtesy of Stim/NCB.

Daphne Records AB owns the copyrights to all text, music, images and webbdesign, All rights reserved.

Produced by Design Box with the Content Management System Drupal 6.