Live à la Française

Daphne 1048




Sensuously and French, five pieces for woodwind and piano by four French composers from different musical eras but with one thing in common - the sense of the playful.

Saint Saëns, the lyric virtuoso, who lived under the top of the romantic era, shows his mischievous side to us in his oboe- and bassoon sonata. Poulenc, the self-willed modernist, is dreamy cinematic in his Trio for oboe, bassoon and piano. And Duteilleux, the acclaimed contemporary composer who in his works has actively flocked away from the graceful, finds beauty where no one else has been looking in the Sonata for oboe and piano. In addition, an eight-minute, tickling "interruption": Interférence by Roger Boutry - a contemporary french stylish with a flair for the unexpected.  


Camille Saint-Saëns: Sonata for oboe and piano            
 1    Andantino            
 2     ad libitum; Allegretto      
 3      Molto allegro          

Camille Saint-Saëns: Sonata for bassoon and piano        
4     Allegretto moderato        
5     Allegro scherzando        
6     Molto adagio; Allegro moderato         

Henri Dutilleux: Sonata for oboe and piano            
7    ARIA, grave         
8    SCHERZO, vif          
9    FINAL, assez allant        

10  Roger Boutry: Interférences 1 for bassoon and piano        

Francis Poulenc: Trio for piano, oboe and bassoon            
11     PRESTO          
12     ANDANTE        
13     RONDO

The music on this web site is published courtesy of Stim/NCB.

Daphne Records AB owns the copyrights to all text, music, images and webbdesign, All rights reserved.

Produced by Design Box with the Content Management System Drupal 6.